France Revisited


Catalogue No: DDA 25132
EAN/UPC: 809730513220
Composers: , ,
Release Date: October 2017
Genres: ,
Periods: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 73:33

Piano-a-Deux – Husband and wife team Robert and Linda Stoodley are an adventurous duo with a very wide range of repertoire from the pops to major classical works which they present to appreciative audiences all around the world, spending much time as recitalists on cruise ships.

This new album features a programme of French music, including Debussy’s well known Petite Suite and the superb First Sonata for Piano Duet by George Onslow, contemporary of the young Mozart and on this showing an equal in compositional skill. Add to that Poulenc’s ‘Songs of Love and War’ arranged by Linda into a new suite of pieces, and we have a very entertaining and instructive album beautifully played.

Track Listing

    George Onslow (1784-1853):Sonata for Piano Four Hands No. 1 in E minor, Op. 7

  1. I. Allegro espressivo
  2. II. Romanza
  3. III. Finale: Agitato
  4. George Onslow (1784-1853): Six pieces pour piano

  5. I. Andantino
  6. II. Andantino quasi allegretto
  7. III. Allegro con moto
  8. IV. Allegretto molto espressivo
  9. V. Allegretto cantabile
  10. VI. Andantino molto cantabile
  11. Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Petite Suite

  12. I. En Bateau
  13. II. Cortège
  14. III. Menuet
  15. IV. Ballet
  16. Francis Poulenc (1899-1963) arranged by Linda Ang Stoodley: Chansons de l’Amour et de la Guerre

  17. I. La Couronne (The Crown)
  18. II. “C” (The Bridges of Cé)
  19. III. Les Chemins del’Amour (The Pathways of Love)
  20. IV. Fêtes Galantes (Noble Celebrations)
  21. V. Violon (Violin)
  22. VI. Les Gars Polonais (The Polish Lads)
    – Fêtes Galantes (reprise)


American Record Guide

Robert Stoodley and Linda Ang are clearly capable of filling the shoes of their predecessors [Goldstone & Clemmow] on Divine Art. I expect this to be the first in another long line of excellent piano duo recordings.

” —James Harrington

The performance by the Stoodleys is spirited and energetic. Their linearity, elasticity, gracefulness, and blended tonal palette [provides] a winning performance. As a whole, playing that is lively, graceful, and shaped by tasteful, unexaggerated expressivity.

” —Daniel Morrison
The Whole Note

Piano à Deux’s new disc, France Revisited – Music by Onslow, Debussy and Poulenc – is an example of piano four hands performance at its very best.

” —Alex Baran
The Chronicle

An album we have played a number of times without being able to decide what its main attraction is: sprightly air, nice atmosphere… an engrossing and entertaining album. It’s all beautifully played.

” —Jeremy Condliffe
MusicWeb International

The playing by Piano à Deux (made up of Robert and Linda Ang Stoodley) is excellent. They have chosen a vibrant and imaginative programme, and have succeeded in introducing the listener to two works by the unjustly neglected George Onslow.

” —John France