Innovations – music for two pianos and percussion


Catalogue No: DDV 24167
EAN/UPC: 809730416729
Artists: , , ,
Composers: , ,
Release Date: April 2018
Genres: , ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 82:14

This splendid recording was originally made by Dunelm Records on limited release in 2006 and is now re-released at mid-price – now on one disc rather than two.

Each composer represented here was an important innovator in different ways; one need only think of how The Rite of Spring shocked the world; they are also linked by a deep interest in folk music. The two major works with percussion are worthy of close comparison, that of Bartók being more austere and ‘early-modernist’ than Camilleri’s rich and neo-Romantic work of 70 years later.

The percussive score of The Rite of Spring makes it ideal in piano duo form and this transcription is that of Stravinsky himself.

The four performers are high achievers in the UK as both soloists, chamber/orchestral players and in academia. McLachlan, a tireless champion of new music, is now one of our most popular and prolific artists.

Track Listing

    Charles Camilleri (1931-2009):
    Concerto for two pianos and percussion

  1. I. Allegro moderato (7:16)
  2. II. Libero (8:59)
  3. III. Allegro moderato (vivace)(4:44)
  4. Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971):
    The Rite of Spring

  5. I. The adoration of the earth – Introduction (3:06)
  6. II. The augurs of spring – dances of young girls (3:18)
  7. III. Ritual of abduction (1:21)
  8. IV. Spring rounds (4:29)
  9. V. Ritual of the rival tribes (1:40)
  10. VI. Procession of the sage (0:41)
  11. VII. The sage (0:24)
  12. VIII. Dance of the earth (1:12)
  13. IX. The sacrifice – Introduction (5:04)
  14. X. Mystic circles of the young girls (3:07)
  15. XI. Glorification of the chosen one (1:20)
  16. XII. Evocation of the ancestors (0:44)
  17. XIII. Ritual action (dance) of the ancestors (3:46)
  18. XIV. Sacrificial dance (4:01)
  19. Béla Bartók (1881-1945):
    Sonata for two pianos and percussion

  20. I. Assai lento
  21. II. Lento ma non troppo
  22. III. Allegro non troppo


MusicWeb International

This is an ingenious recital, excellently planned and played. With a spacious but focused recording set-up, strands come through with clarity. This is a challenging and successful recital.

” —Jonathan Woolf
MusicWeb International

All three works presented are valuable and the Camilleri concerto should now find a place in programmes that feature Bartok’s sonata. A thought provoking and rewarding issue.

” —David Hackbridge Johnson
MusicWeb International

Revelatory clarity… this excellent CD opens with the premiere (and so far, the only) recording of Charles Camilleri’s stunning Concerto for two pianos and percussion. The recital of these three excellent works is superb. The recording is ideal.

” —John France