Schächer & Willscher – Organ works


Catalogue No: DDA 25168
EAN/UPC: 809730516825
Composers: ,
Release Date: May 2018
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 67:28

This recording features music by two German composers: Raimund Schächer (b.1960) and Andreas Willscher (b.1955). Each composer is represented by three varied, yet characteristic, pieces. Raimund Schächer’s years of work as an editor of late medieval and early Renaissance keyboard music show in the free modality and early-influenced forms of his compositions. Andreas Willscher’s deep interest in French romanticism and eclectic musical interests (drawing on both classical and non-classical sources) are displayed in his pieces.

Carson Cooman (b.1982) is an American composer with a catalog of hundreds of works in many forms—ranging from solo instrumental pieces to operas, and from orchestral works to hymn tunes. His music has been performed on all six inhabited continents. As an active concert organist, Cooman specializes in the performance of contemporary music. Over 300 new works have been composed for him by composers from around the world, and his organ performances can be heard on a number of recordings of which this is his third for Divine Art.

The recording was made on the Mathias Orgelbau instrument of 1997/2006 in the Pfarrkirche St. Peter-und-Paul, Görlitz, Germany, in a live performance using the Hauptwerk system.

Track Listing

    Raimund Schächer (b.1960):

  1. Sonata Antiqua, Op. 40 – I. Präludium antiquum
  2. Sonata Antiqua, Op. 40 – II. Aria irlandese con variazioni
  3. Sonata Antiqua, Op. 40 – III. Passacaglia in a
  4. Fantasia (Tintinnabuli), Op. 23
  5. Treuchtlinger Partita, Op. 11 – I. Praeambulum
  6. Treuchtlinger Partita, Op. 11 – II. Bicinium
  7. Treuchtlinger Partita, Op. 11 – III. Pedal-Solo
  8. Treuchtlinger Partita, Op. 11 – IV. Choral:’Gib dich zufrieden’
  9. Treuchtlinger Partita, Op. 11 – V. Aria
  10. Treuchtlinger Partita, Op. 11 – VI. Passacaglia
  11. Andreas Willscher (b.1955):

  12. Suite romantique – I. Scherzo
  13. Suite romantique – II. Romance sans paroles
  14. Suite romantique – III. Toccata romantique
  15. Aria
  16. Partita on ‘Creator alme siderum’