Vyacheslav Artyomov: Sola Fide


Catalogue No: DDA 25164
EAN/UPC: 809730516429
Artists: , , , ,
Release Date: April 2018
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 70:06

Vyacheslav Artyomov is considered by many to be Russia’s greatest living composer. After the fall of the Soviet regime his music has travelled the world to great acclaim. It is deep, ultimately spiritual and brilliantly crafted, with influences from the Russian symphonic tradition colored by Mahler, Scriabin, Honegger and Messiaen to name a few – but melded into a unique voice.

Following the critical acclaim of his first two Divine Art albums, this program includes his Concerto for Chamber Orchestra ‘Tempo Costante’ and two suites from the ballet ‘Sola Fide’ (‘Only by Faith’) which is based on the novel The Road to Calvary by Aleksey Tolstoy; it shares an ethos and much music with Artyomov’s celebrated Requiem hence the choral elements found in the ballet score.

These premiere recordings herald a series of another 6 albums of music by Artyomov licensed from Melodiya in Moscow.

Track Listing

    Vyacheslav Artyomov (b.1940):
    Sola Fide (Only by Faith): Ballet Suite 3 (Katia)

  1. Introduction
  2. Separation
  3. Revelation
  4. Shock
  5. Roschin
  6. Acquisition
  7. Sola Fide (only by Faith): Ballet Suite 4 (The Terrible Days)

  8. Prologue
  9. Plea
  10. Despair
  11. Wind, wind
  12. Terrible days
  13. Finale
  14. Tempo Costante – Concerto for Orchestra


Musical Opinion

The music of Vyacheslav Artyomov is deep, ultimately spiritual and brilliantly crafted. Brilliantly impressive…played with notable commitment and technical aplomb. – (5 stars)

” —Robert Matthew-Walker
MusicWeb International

The ballet suites are a dark and sombre affair, epic in proportions and impressively bold. Yet they have their more introverted moments of profound reflection. Haunting, ghostly and ethereal are adjectives I would use to describe the general tenor. The soloists and choir are raptly intense and Kitaenko directs a sure-footed account. The imaginative and colourful orchestration [of Tempo Costante], drawing on a resourceful array of percussion, confers a kaleidoscopic sonic blend. The recordings sound fresh and vibrant. This captivating release will no doubt stir me on to explore more of this composer’s strikingly potent music.

” —Stephen Greenbank